A New Year

 

Happy New Year!

img_2500

As we near the end of the first week of 2017, we all embark upon uncharted waters. A new year is a mystery with many expectations and uncertainties. If you have a vacation get-away or surgery planned, then you may expect fun times or tiring healing. We can  plan, expect and foresee what the new year will hold. But do we really know what will happen?  What we can surely count on are the consistent  ups and downs of life. It’s like a dangerous and exhilarating roller coaster ride, that takes your breath away.  Every year that we encounter will be filled with happy moments, trials and tribulations and everything in between.

img_2501

Last year I started on my blogging adventure and had great results. My mini goal was to write at least twice or three times a week and I think with a few exceptions I’ve done that. I’ve always written but never took it seriously or took a step further until last January. I feel it’s a huge personal accomplishment.

Another mini goal was to attend a paint n’ sip. If you are unfamiliar with that, it’s simply an art class focusing on painting a chosen theme and everyone has wine or cocktails. I’ve always wanted to go to one but haven’t had the chance. This year a class was being held in my old hometown and my sister and I planned to go. I bought my ticket and waited anxiously for weeks. Unfortunately my sister couldn’t attend at the last minute and I was stuck with a ticket and untamed desire to go. I actually went to the class ALONE! As I walked in all I could see was groups of chatty, happy women and a kind instructor in the front of the room. It was one of the hardest things I’ve ever done but I did it! I walked in and started talking to a few ladies and actually met two nice ladies from Vermont, who asked me to sit with them. I’m so proud that I swallowed my pride and embarrassment and went, for I would’ve missed out on a fantastic opportunity and my first painting wasn’t that bad either.

You probably have already read a few magazine or news articles based on fresh ideas and setting goals for the new year. Every January we are bombarded with unique ideas and self help guidance, as some people set resolutions and some don’t even bother. I haven’t made a resolution in a few years, for the first week I always break it and thoughts of the goal fades away as February rolls around. It’s not that I can’t commit because I have kept many commitments in my life, but it’s just I don’t have the motivation to keep my goal. Losing weight happens easier if you don’t really think about it but change your lifestyle, so that resolution has never worked for me. Many of my resolutions haven’t worked because I just didn’t want them bad enough.

Have you made a new year resolution?  Maybe you made a firm goal, to quit smoking or lose weight. If you are similar to me and don’t take on some unsurmountable resolutions, why not switch it up? For a change I set mini goals or bucket list items ( I know many people are sick of hearing of “bucket lists”, but I love them because they entice you to do it now or you may never do it). I believe setting mini goals is less pressure and more fun so they must be light hearted, fun or something you really want to try or learn.

First I wish to go to Mount Washington via the Cog Railroad, a historic train that chugs up the high elevation. It’s an experience that I haven’t had and would love to see the view from up there. My husband thinks that his family went when he was really little but he doesn’t remember it. Secondly I long to learn knit.  My interest in knitting goes back to memories of my Nan Gould knitting me mittens every year. She always asked me what color I wanted and made me a fresh pair every fall. It meant a lot to me that she handmade me these and poured so much love into each stitch.My grandpa used to roll up the yarn for her and I remember it well and thinking how kind and loving he was for doing that. Lastly I want to try a new food, sushi! I have never wanted to try it until now and expect that I may dislike it, but do I really know?

Whatever your plan or goals are for the year, I wish you to live and thrive in  peace and happiness. I wish you new experiences and places to explore. I pray that you and your family will be healthy this year and handle any health scare with strength and resolve. Lastly I hope that you make lasting and fun memories that will stay in your heart for years to come!

All My Best,

Heart and Soul 

8 thoughts on “A New Year

  1. What a great way to bring in the New Year! Like you, I too would have been completely embarrassed being the only person without a friend, but good for you overcoming that fear. It is especially hard to be on one’s own in that particular setting. I love to knit, and crochet a bit too. I did a lot of it when my girls were younger. For some reason I seem to have trouble following patterns for sweaters and such, so I just stick with hats, afghans, scarves and such. It brings me so much calm and relaxation at the end of the day. For sushi, I’d say look at some of the videos out on the internet, that’s how I learned to make sushi. Good luck with accomplishing your mini-goals. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve left resolutions behind and replaced them with other things the last few years. Things like focus or your bucket list approach. This year I’m hoping to move more and to pray more. Good for you for following through with your paint and sip night. I’ve walked into exercise groups like that and found many gals to be so welcoming. Happy 2017 to you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

