My Husband, the Snowplow Man

In the heart of a storm snow swirls and whipping wind blows drifts all over roads and driveways. As it accumulates I’m either at work or at home watching through my windows. The only time that I brave that kind of weather is when I have to work. But I know a man who is out in it constantly. He’s my husband and he’s the snowplow man.

 

img_1901
Taken from TimeWarpWife.com via Pinterest

 

 

 

 

 

My guy is one of thousands ( maybe more) of snowplow operators, who work tedious hours on end so you can travel safely on the road. As a matter of fact, last week we had two winter storms. One night he worked from 6:00 am to 4:00 am the next day with a couple of hours off in between, and another he plowed and sanded from 1:00 am until 7:00 am, after working all day. Yet ,he never complains but continues to serve his community with a profound love for the job.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

img_2108
Our snowy yard

 

 

 

 
Do you notice and acknowledge the hefty snowplows that push mounds of snow? All winter town and state plow operators lay down salt or sand, push endless amounts of snow and sometimes help people that are stuck off the roads or in snow banks. Their commitment to work is unreal. Here I am nestled in a warm house watching outside like a snow globe and they sit high up in a rattling loud truck for hours on end. Many times they work without sleep or hot food.

 

 

One of my favorite books is  Kate Braestrup’s book, Beginner’s Grace. Kate is a Maine Fish and Game Chaplain who is called upon to pray for the deceased or for families of lost hikers and such. In her book she offers some great prayers and blessings for different occasions. One prayer she shares is to be said at the sound of a siren.
God grant courage to those who suffer,
Strength and peace to those who help.
Amen.

I always think of this prayer and adapt it when Tom and other snowplow operators are out in a storm.

 

God protect Tom and all snow removal operators

as they work steadily

Grant them courage and strength as they battle the snow

please help people slow down

On snowy, icy  roads

for everyone’s safety.
Amen

The next time you are driving in a snowstorm, please slow down and be cognizant of plow trucks! They are trying to do their jobs and take care of the roads and any vehicle complications can be a danger to you and them. Like you, most snowplow operators have families waiting for them at home.

 

God Bless and stay safe in winter storms.

 

Happy first anniversary to me! One year ago I launched my little blog about country life in my corner of the world. Thank you to all of you for reading my posts, commenting and following me! By allowing emails or following me, you invest and believe in me and I don’t take that lightly. It means the world to me for your time and motivates me to write. I look forward to sharing more stories with you as I move forward and welcome ideas or follow- ups to older posts. 🎉🎉🎉🎉

All My Best,
Heart and Soul ❤️

8 thoughts on “My Husband, the Snowplow Man

Leave a Reply

