Baking Tips

 

 

img_2190

 

 

I have never been formerly taught the art of cooking and baking. As a young woman, it never interested me and I only associated it with tireless house wives who considered it a chore. In seventh and eighth grade I had Home Economics classes and that was my first true introduction to it all. We made simple dishes, no bake cookies and rice krispies bars and I have a fleeting memory of cooking pudding on the stove.

 

 

 

 

My present baking knowledge is from observation of others and from trial and error by myself. I guess it’s true what some people say, that no matter how old you are, life is full of learning opportunities. Recently I wrote a post highlighting my friend Michelle’s exciting career as a baking instructor at King Arthur Flour. I asked her to share some useful baking tips for others and I ended up thoroughly surprised that I didn’t know some of the tricks.

 

 

 

Michelle informed me that most people’s mistakes with baking is using too much flour. People are always asking her why their bread comes out like bricks and pizzas like hard frisbees.  The key is using less flour. While many experts will tell you to measure in cups, King Arthur Flour encourages bakers to weigh the flour. A cup of King Arthur Flour weighs 4- 4 ¼  ounces.  By weighing flour and not using volume, you’ll be accurate with the amounts.

 

 

 

Another tip Michelle shares is when measuring flour, don’t pack it in the cup. ( if you are still using cups and not weighing) Instead, sprinkle the flour in loosely and level with a knife at the top. When I think of this, I think of the act of packing brown sugar in a cup. You want to do just the opposite because if you pack it, you have too much flour.

 

 

 

I have the King Arthur Baking cookbook and I noticed when browsing recipes, a commonality is the note of avoiding over mixing. I already knew this tip from blueberry muffin recipes. Michelle says to be careful not to overmix cookies, cakes, and muffins. If you mix the batter too much, there will be too much gluten. If you want tender baked goods, DO NOT OVERMIX!

 

 

 

 

A hint for amateur pie crust bakers, keep your butter cold when adding to your flour mixture. Also Michelle reminds us that using melted butter instead of softened makes a negative difference. For example,  when baking cookies make sure you leave out the butter overnight so it softens. Melting the butter will change the consistency. When you cream the butter and sugar you are supposed to put air bubbles in. If you use melted butter instead, it’s very hard to get the air in it. I didn’t know this, amazing fact!

 

 

 

 


Now that we learned some valuable baking tips…let’s get out there and bake! Use these techniques and see how much better your cakes, cookies and breads are! Share these tips with your family and friends and always have fun in your kitchen!

 

 

This weekend I’m baking a chocolate cheesecake for my son’s girlfriend’s birthday and old fashioned whoopie pies shaped like footballs for the Super Bowl. Go New England Patriots!

 

 

 

This is a heartfelt thank you to Michelle for her gift of time for the interview and her kindness.

 

All My Best,

Heart and Soul

 

 

 

img_2167
My Vanilla Twinkie cake with marshmallow fluff inside
14 thoughts on “Baking Tips

  1. It’s great to hear all the tips and thanks for laying them all out from Michelle……however, I’m still at a loss to find out why I’m so pleased with some results and other times I’m not. I’ve made many breads and rolls before; last weekend I decided on trying a new recipe from a blogger’s site. It was so simple, even a teenager would have passed the test. However, my yeast did not rise at all (it was the rapid yeast). Although the date on the packet had not expired, I went ahead with it…..right away I could tell something was amiss as it did not froth at all in the warm milk. Then I read that sometimes hot milk will kill the yeast (although it wasn’t that hot). But I gave myself the benefit of the doubt, rushed out to buy more yeast (just in case the batch was stale), and proceeded to try again. This time I made sure the milk was lukewarm. Still no luck, I was so disappointed. I went ahead and formed the rolls and let them rise etc. but it was a complete failure. I will keep trying. 🙂 Thanks for your post. I keep telling myself I need to buy a scale – that’s all they use in Europe.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh – won’t you please share your vanilla twinkie cake recipe?! Sounds fun and yummy! I love it all – but sorry – can’t root for your NE Patriots – LOL! I live in STEELERS country 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Loretta, I’ve tried making rolls in the past and the yeast didn’t rise and mine wasn’t out of date either. I can always ask Michelle about your dilemma or you could call the baking hotline? Keep trying because once you got it, you’ll get it right every time.😉

    Like

  4. Daksha, check out the latest news. A federal judge has blocked the immigration order nationwide, for now. Very interesting events happening but I get so consumed with it that I have to skip the news sometimes.

    Like

  5. Yes Mary I have been on You Tube too regularly every day and find that Trump is getting into deeper and stiller waters every single day! or every single hour! I get the feeling he may even be impeached! But today I watched seven women being interviewed by a journalist and they really love Trump and wish the press would leave him alone to do his good work! strange!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Sometimes if yeast isn’t properly taken care of at the retail store it can go bad even if the date is still good. It should be refridgerated. When you add your liquids to a recipe make sure they aren’t above 120 degrees. Yeast starts to die at that temp. And up.
    If you aren’t sure that your yeast is good, add it to the liquid in the recipe with some of the flour or sugar and stir it up and wait 15 minutes. If it isn’t bubbly the yeast isn’t good.
    Hope this helps!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.