One Lovely Blog Award

Hello readers! I’m beyond excited to have our spare room project almost completed! Dylan and Lexie came for lunch today and helped us move furniture from the garage storage into the house. Be looking for a future post soon on the results!

IMG_2357

Yesterday morning I was thrilled to find out that a lovely blogger friend nominated me for the “ One Lovely Blog Award.” I’ve learned that this award honors and supports fellow bloggers in their endeavors to share our stories with each other. Tammy from Faithhopelovefood has nominated me as one of her chosen bloggers.

I’m tickled pink about it and her blog! Tammy devotes it to inspirational topics and her relationship with a God. It has been one of my constant go- to sites where she has insight and scriptures about life and I really find it helpful to me in my personal journey. I want to thank Tammy for nominating me and the other wonderful blogging sites!
With acceptance of this award I need to share 7 facts about myself with you.

1. Family is priority in my life, period. My family that I was born into, the family that I married into, and the family team my husband and I created all hold a special place in my heart!

2. I work at a little school, helping young children read. It’s an amazing job where I get to teach, laugh and listen eagerly to the things kids say! It’s the best and most rewarding job that I’ve ever held and yeah, I love it too! It’s like I’m living in a dream because I longed to be a teacher as a child.
3. I have written since third grade. I’m not sure who inspired me but I remember seeing cut out magazine pictures and dreaming up stories about them. Many years I wrote fictional stories but now I find that I prefer nonfiction and writing about my life and experiences. I still have a few notebooks from seventh and eighth grade.

4. Like Tammy, I love music too! Thanks to my son who told me about Spotify, I can listen to my chosen songs in playlists. I have a quiet playlist for those serene moments, old favorite pop and rock songs for happy dancing and current pop hits to listen to while baking or doing housework.  Lately I’ve been listening to ” A Million Reasons” by Lady Gaga, Prince’s 80’s hits ” When Doves Cry”, ” Let’s Go Crazy”, Third Eye Blind, Little Bigtown…just to name a few.

5. I was named after my maternal grandmother, Mary Elizabeth. My grandmother and I are not the only Marys in my family. My  great grandmother ( whom I never met), my cousin on my mom’s side, another cousin on my dad’s side of the family are all Marys. When I was young, my aunt and her family and grandparents nicknamed me “ little Mary”, while my cousin was older. I have an old fashioned name but I cherish it and am proud of it!

6. I lived in Boston for three months in 1988. I thought that I wanted to go into television work and attended Newbury College. My dorm was on Commonwealth Avenue, just a few blocks from the Prudential on Boylston. I worked part time at Mrs. Field’s Cookies and sold a cookie for $2.00, which I thought was outrageous for a mere cookie!

7. I have faith in God but do not attend church. I did go to a Congregational church nearby for a few years but stopped going. It seemed that there was politics and man made rules that clouded things and stressed me out. I do need to learn more about Him and eventually find a good fit church locally. Until then I will continue to believe, pray and read my Bible.
Now as part of this nomination, I will nominate fellow bloggers who have inspired me. Check out these wonderful blogs, ones that I follow everyday.

Thecreativelifeinbetween
Thegrizzlegristmill
Thethankfulheart
Deborahtheclosetmonster
Aftertherain

ThismuchIknow

Nominated bloggers, if you choose to accept the One Lovely Blog Award and pass it along, you will find your instructions below:

Thank the person that nominated you and leave a link to their blog
Post about the award
Share 7 facts about yourself
Nominate at most 15 people ( I did only 6)
Tell your nominees the good news!

#onelovelyblogaward

All My Best,

Heartandsoul

20 thoughts on “One Lovely Blog Award

  1. Lovely to learn more about you. Can’t wait to see the room. Please don’t be offended but I don’t do the blog awards. I am honored however that you thought of me. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Fun post! Loved getting to know you a little better– I didn’t know you taught reading! When I was a teacher, getting kids reading was one of my favorite parts of my job! I miss that. You are giving children a great gift! And waiting to see pics of your spare room project! sounds intriguing! hugs hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I will post the spare room in a week or so, we are working on the closet too and I want to share that too. It’s nothing fancy, quite simple but nice. I am a reading paraeducator and teach small groups K through third grade. It’s fun and rewarding but can be stressful sometimes, especially this time of year. That’s cool that you were a teacher! Blessings to you ❤❤❤🌈

    Like

  4. Hi Mary– I would love your job. So much fun to teach kids to read because you see the progress bit by bit and it’s really a gift you’re giving them. We lived in Spain when my own kids were starting school so I taught them to read in English (they were in Spanish public school) and loved it! And– Be fun to see your fixed up room! House projects are exciting, but sometimes they turn out to be too much work!! Then when you’re done it’s the best! Hope all’s well there. hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Rhonda, I hope all is well there with you and your family! Yes, I love my job although it’s very stressful at times but that’s not because of the children. How exciting to live in Spain and teach your children! I can’t wait for the room to be done and as soon as it is, I’ll share. It’s nothing fancy, very simple and small. We still have a closet renovation to do, Sheetrock and all! Have a great weekend!❤🌈

    Like

Comments are closed.