The First Time

When was the last time you did something for the first time?

Photo credit, Facebook.com/BEGINWITHYES

 

Upon seeing this Facebook post, I sat down and thought about it. Since I’m a creature of habit and don’t try new things all the time, it was a difficult task to recall the last time I tried something new.

About a year ago I attended an art class in my hometown and painted an outdoors scene with birches and scattered rocks. It was an amazing learning experience and my first time I really painted aside from Kindergarten projects. What stays with me is not the painting itself or the class, but the fact that I went alone. I had planned to go with my sister but she couldn’t go in the last minute. Worried thoughts plowed through me and I even contemplated attempting to get a refund. But what stopped me was a need and want to go. I had my mind set that I would have a great class. I’m proud of myself for entering that class of laughing and talking women in groups of two or three and stood alone optimistically. That was the first time that I set my mind to attend something alone and I walked away triumphant!

 

Another first this summer is it’s my first time growing corn! In previous years Tom planted it and I really had nothing to do with it. He got discouraged because of raccoons and other critters ate a lot of it. Now we are trying it again, many years later and God willing, our plates will be full of corn in a month or so.

Think about this, friends. Share when was the last time you did something for the first time?

All My Best,

Heart and Soul ❤

 

15 thoughts on “The First Time

  1. Great question Mary!! I also like my sale old little rut!! I’ve been writing in a little journal–that’s new to me. Working through thing that are happening and recording God’s love and goodness through it all. And– your painting class sound so fun. Cal State near use has seniors classes included water color painting. You’e giving me a nudge! Happy weekend–Is your mother-in-law still with you?? Hope you’re having the best time together!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Rhonda, you should sign up for that class! Writing in a journal can be cleansing and may give you ideas for your blog. Yes, my mother is here until next Sunday. I am taking her camping for five days up north. She reserved a cabin in a campground on a peaceful lake. I’ll read and write a lot and relax. Hopefully I can have inspirations for future posts. Blessings to you🦋💜

      Like

      1. Camping on a lake –where it’s so green and beautiful– perfect! And don’t you think food tastes better outdoors when you’re camping?? And I don’t even mind washing dishes when we’re camping in a pretty spot. Hope it’s the best!! (and hope we get to see pictures!) Happy Camping!! xox

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Funny, I recently added a post to my blog where I mentioned eating an oyster for the first time in my life. I was at a family dinner celebration where a number of appetizers were served. One was deep fried oysters which I did not know at the time – thought it was chicken at first. There was just something peculiar about it – first and last time!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Let’s see, I have eaten in a restaurant by myself. I still haven’t made cinnamon rolls from scratch and I want to try that and try baking my own bread. Good for you for going to that painting class alone!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi Ellen, I think it takes guts to eat alone in a restaurant and I have done it but many years ago. Go out on a limb and do all these things you wish to. Let me know how your cinnamon buns and bread turns out. Blessings to you.🙏💕

    Like

  5. I wish you luck with your corn – isn’t it so disheartening when the critters destroy all your hard work? I volunteer in a garden, where we planted corn a couple years ago. Everything looked good till one fine day we found all the corn snipped off and eaten, just leaving behind the chewed up cobs. I’ll be keeping an eye out for your successes 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

